Free Day

Today was free day at the studio.  Every year, their anniversary is celebrated by offering free classes to the community.  The day is filled with beginner excitement and anticipation.  Remember what that was like?  I was really looking forward to class today – wanted that packed room energy feeling, nice and hot.  And to celebrate my own anniversary / milestone. 

Six years!!!! That first day, I dragged two friends along with me.  I had committed to trying the yoga on recommendation from my physio, to continue to heal a cycling injury.  We sweating and laughed through the class…what the heck was that breathing anyway?  What do you mean “see my foot over top of my head”? 

I was hooked.   Some how I knew this crazy, sweaty, hot yoga was exactly what I needed.  I signed up for a year membership on the spot. 

Six years I have been sweating it out Bikram style.  Six years of japanese ham sandwhich, arms over head sideways, continuously kicking as hard as possible, stretching in opposite directions like natural human traction, elbows looking like an “L”, chest up, everything up like a 747 taking off, and of course lock the knee, lock the knee, lock the knee

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101

2 responses to “Free Day

  1. Congrats on six years…..that is awesome! And I love what you said, that you wouldn’t have it any other way!

  2. I’m a little behind on reading the blogs but I just wanted to say congrats on your milestone anniversary! That’s so awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

