perception

Today a visiting teacher told me I have a beautiful practice.   I am humbled…and it is a very welcome observation at this point in the challenge.  I am not feeling particularly beautiful…a bit lumpy, creaky and ungraceful…so I am grateful that what is coming out is something different from what I perceive. 

As a teacher, I often feel that I am on display – not in a bad way, more like the students just want to see what this person who tells them what to do does in her own class.  To that end, I try to be the type of student I want them to be:

  • Focus in class
  • Move with the words
  • No towel wiping or excess water drinking
  • No sitting out postures (unless I’m about to fall down – rare, but has happened)
  • Perform each posture with integrity and precision
  • Do my best each and every class

My postures are not about to win any asana championship; my body and I have much to heal and open.  I didn’t start doing yoga until I was 40 – that’s 40 years of damage through both activity, couch potato behaviour and poor eating habits.  The yoga has been great for me to reverse some of what I have done to my body.  I have felt my practice to be solid and up until this last year, perhaps even flowing, graceful. 

But not beautiful…need to flip the switch, get the head in line with the heart so that the outside and inside are indeed on the same page.  Beautiful!

2 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101, Uncategorized

2 responses to “perception

  1. Isn’t it amazing what other people see in your practice. Sometimes it seems what people see are almost directed exactly at what you’ve been missing out on telling yourself. Or that they come at just the time that you need to make the decision on which way to go at this fork. Maybe it’s just that we are ready to listen, but it feels like it’s also they are ready to talk.

    The most recent comment I got was, “You take your practice very seriously don’t you”. I’m not sure yet what to make of that one, but maybe that’s what I needed to hear to reaffirm what the practice means to me.

    As for the teachers in the room, I rarely pay them any attention. But when I was new to the practice and saw them in the room I notice there were two types. Those that were an inspiration to watch! And those with a ‘normal’ (I use that word because it’s what I used when I was a beginner) practice. They were a constantly stream of little hints about how the posture should look. So you tried to follow them because you knew you’d get there soon.

    I’ll leave you with this little quote on age and yoga, it’s something Rajashree said recently:
    “Yoga starts from 25, especially from 35”

Leave a Reply

