Snap, crackle, pop

Goes my body…right hip, right knee, left ankle…and that’s just today.  These are the kinks coming out – the pop is some how the tension being released, the body realigning.  Sometimes it surprises, almost like it hurts, but more like someone snapping a rubber band, a vibration more than an actual pain.  It will take awhile, I know. 

It’s not like I got “here” overnight…BB (before Bikram), I had worn down my body.  Sports for many years of my life – a little bit of everything:  gymnastics, skating, swimming, track & field, horse riding, volleyball, basketball, skiing, biking, softball, racquetball, aerobics, weight training… Then the injuries mixed in:  sprained ankles, torn anterior cruciate ligaments, dislocated shoulder, torn muscle in my ribcage, torn cartilage in my knees, bruises, bumps, falling down and getting up again.  Surgeries on my wrecked knees (5 of them).  Not to mention poor nutrition and serious weight gain in my 30’s. Stress. A TON of caffeine.  Large sweet tooth. 

Now, 45 plus, I am wiser and in much better health than I was in my 20’s and 30’s.  I love the body realigning; reminds me where I came from. 

Reminds me how far I have come.

3 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101

3 responses to “Snap, crackle, pop

  1. ahappyyogi

    And it can just get better!

  2. That first line would have described my practice yesterday quite well. But it’s all good, can’t expect the body not to complain when we start forcing it to work every day. After all don’t we complain plenty enough about the 5 days a week we have to work.

  3. It’s always nice to remember where we came from. Esp if we start to compare ourselves to others. I’m guilty of that at times.

Leave a Reply

