yes we have no coconut water…

Coconut water has become a staple for me.  It is a natural way to replace electrolytes without all the gunk that is put into sports drinks.  I use a recipe from Brendan Brazier’s book The Thrive Diet (http://www.brendanbrazier.com/) that mixes coconut water, ginger, lemon, agave syrup and salt for a sports drink during class.  I like it, it’s refreshing for me.  So, it’s a bit of a ritual / habit.  

The last week, my local store has been out of coconut water, so I have been with out for the last 3 or 4 days.  The studio sells the small single packs, so I have been making do. 

Today, I arrived at the studio this pm to take class and GASP! there were none left in the cooler.  OH NO!  and I’m still feeling tired and a bit depleted from my overdoing it this week.  What to do????  A student suggests trying the store in the same mall we are in.  I had been there the night before and all they had was the flavoured kind (which I don’t like).   Hmm, maybe I’ll try an emergen”C” – I used to drink those all the time before I discovered the coconut stuff.  Ah, the only one we have is Blue something…blah, not tickling the taste buds.  So, water, plain ol’ water it is. 

Of course I survive the class.  It was medium, middle of the road, which I’ll take just fine thank you very much. Perhaps I’ll even break this addiction to coconut water!

1 Comment

Filed under Bikram 101

One response to “yes we have no coconut water…

  1. I used to drink coconut water in class, and love it. But since I’ve been pulling down on my water consumption I now only crave plain water if anything during class. There’s plenty of time for electrolytes once I’ve rehydrated after class.

Leave a Reply

