Savasana isn’t nap time?

Savasana, dead body pose – complete stillness; only breath.  Total relaxation.  You are getting sleepy, very sleepy….

That’s the way my savasanas have been the last few classes, especially those on my belly.  This is a new sensation, not something I remember struggling much with before.  But now, all I want to do in savasana is go to sleep.  My eyes get heavy and close.  I feel almost like I am on the beach.  I hear a voice, “eyes open” –  yikes, wake up…

Not sure what is going on…the heat? my nutrition?  my schedule?  the challenge? 

I want answers so I can “fix” it.  I want energy, an energetic practice, a deepening practice, a practice that connects.  Not one where I snooze! 

Perhaps sleep, rest, relaxation is what my body needs right now.  I will try to listen and comply.

Just not in savasana.

4 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101

4 responses to “Savasana isn’t nap time?

  1. Going back to what Mary Jarvis has to say about the 100 day challenge. Everyone seem to have been so focused on her saying it’s the emotional part that they miss the next sentence:
    “These next 30 days, you really begin to feel mentally fatigued, even in spite of the fact that you physically feel better than you ever have in your entire life!!!!”

    Yes sleep and rest might be the answer. The answer might also be that it’s just a stage, it will soon pass and we just have to cope with it while it’s here.

    • Thanks for the perspective – I actually did see that sentence and have indeed experienced the mental fatigue. Of course, with mental fatigue, 2+2 doesn’t always come out to 4 so I didn’t connect the napping in savasana to mental fatigue.

  2. It’s okay if you fall asleep. Indeed, it might be precisely what you need. More often than not it is counter-productive to try and force your practice in one way or another. Going to sleep is one way of going deep; so don’t be too hard on yourself.

    I wrote an article a while ago about savasana, maybe you’ll find it useful: http://littlepractices.wordpress.com/2010/03/29/exploring-the-rest/

    Enjoy your practice!
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

