Believe

This has been Canada’s theme for the Olympics.  We even have a song about it: 

There comes a moment when my heart must stand alone
On this lonely path I’ve chosen
like a house that’s not a home
sometimes when I feel I’ve had enough
and I feel like giving up
you willed me to be all I can be
now nothing can stop me
I believe in the power that comes
From a world brought together as one
I believe together well find
I believe in the power of you and I

I have admired the tenacity of the athletes; their focus and their determination.  Their faith – in themselves, in what they are doing.

Now, I’m not an olympic athlete.  Yet today in class I had faith – faith in the yoga, faith in myself.  Today, for the first time in about a year, I got both feet around, all five toes visible, in eagle!  Ah, it even seemed, dare I say it, easy.  I have really been struggling with this posture, frustrated because it used to come easy to me.  Today I did it without thinking, without anticipation, and actually without seeing myself in the mirror.    So perhaps the pain of the last week, the working through it, has allowed my hips to open up again.  The yoga working it’s magic.   

Trust in the process.  Do yoga. Believe.

5 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101

5 responses to “Believe

  1. I think, oftentimes, trusting in the process is the hardest part, of our yoga and of our lives. It’s hard to remember that all those minute steps between Here and There are instrumental and important and absolutely necessary.

    • You are so right! Sometimes we live life with inattention, and I think that’s when the minutae pass us by. When paying attention, when living consiously, it seems so much more – in a good way.

  2. wow, congrats on the easy wrap! I cannot wrap on either side yet, it’s so frustrating. I keep trying to figure out if my hips are tight or if my legs are just too darn fat. 🙂

    • I had similar thoughts…the weird thing is yesterday I didn’t think about it, I just did it. And again today. I’m still all screwed up and nowhere near in one straight line under the nose, but the toes are back there and are staying. Eagle is so much harder when the toes aren’t wrapped…and I didn’t know that until I couldn’t wrap. One of my saving thoughts for this posture was always that Craig can’t wrap his toes either. Just means you (we) are very muscular! 🙂

  3. The Olympic athletes have inspired me too especially the ones who have sacrificed so much to go after their dreams. Heck, I’m sure some of them are even in debt or have strung together odd jobs in order to train. They are an example of utter dedication to realizing their dreams.

    FAITH is truly an incredible thing. Miracles happen as a result of faith. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

