The hurrier I go, the behinder I get

This is how I feel at this time.  I am getting input from everywhere and trying to output thoughts, jewellery, yoga classes, blogs all the while getting tangled in new / old friends.  Oh, and did I mention I’m also trying to complete 101 classes of yoga in 101 days.

Well, ok, perhaps it will be 97 in 101 days.  Yup, I am now four classes behind.  Had actually planned a double this week – and instead, I taught a triple.  Yoga, getting in the way of my yoga!  There is indeed such a thing as too much yoga.   Aha, I said it…..it’s ok, take a breath, you’ll be alright…I know for some of you, this sounds like a counter-culture statement, and yet for me, this week and perhaps next, this is my reality. 

Too.Much.Hot.  Makes me dizzy, energy depleted, exhausted.  Falling out of love with the room when it is too much. Being there, inside, sweating.  Feels like obligation just to get into the room.  I think yoga should flow more, feel more naturally a part of my day.   Regular practice.  Not force-yourself-it’s-not-fun-anymore. 

I have 5 weeks to make up 4 classes. I will have to decide if I want to make up the classes, or if I am ok with 97 /101.  One of the reasons I took on the challenge was to get back to regular practice, which for me means 5-6 times per week.  I’d be happy with 5 on average; that would beat last summer’s average all to hell.  

Don’t get me wrong…I still believe in the yoga and am committed to the challenge.  I know – day by day, class by class, chip away at it.

Let it be what it is.

1 Comment

Filed under Bikram 101

One response to “The hurrier I go, the behinder I get

  1. This is where I am too. I’m a few classes behind, and I did my first double EVER last weekend but I just don’t feel the need to make the numbers match. My INTENT is 60 in 60 and if life intervenes and I go 6 days a week, then that’s just AWESOME!

    And I’m not even a teacher and having to be in that room when I’m NOT practicing.

    I laughed when I saw the title of this post because my grandmother owned a restaurant in Knoxville, TN and a sign with this saying on it was to the left of the door way to the kitchen. It is true in ALL parts of life!

Leave a Reply

