Mind games

I wanted to write an eloquent post today…something about karma yoga and destiny.  I even looked up karma yoga.  But my mind wouldn’t settle, wouldn’t focus.  Seems it’s not only my physical practice that is all over the place right now. 

I am seizing on fleeting quotes, songs and sayings…I seem to be trying to make sense of something.  I am restless, squirmy even, like a school kid who doesn’t want to  pay attention.  Mind and imagination in overdrive – Bachman Turner Overdrive  (see what I mean!)

I feel like I am peeling away layers and trying to peek at what is underneath, but it’s just not in focus, just out of my reach.  Like I have to bend backward to go forward.  Like I’m spinning myself into the ground – or maybe into Charlotte’s Web (some pig?). 

So, here’s a few snippets of what my mind is running over now:

Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (U2)

If you don’t know where you are going, you will wind up somewhere else. (Yogi Berra)

Begin at the beginning…and go on till you come to the end:  Then stop.  (Lewis Carroll)

Wherever you go, go with all your heart.  (Confucius)

Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart.  Who looks outside, dreams.  Who looks inside, awakens.  (Carl Jung)

Often people attempt to live their lives backwards:  they try to have more things, or more money, in order to do more of what they really want so that they will be happier.  The way it actually works is the reverse.  You must first be who you are, then, do what you really need to do, in order to have what you want.  (Margaret Young).

Relax your mind; open your heart. (Craig, at the end of every class). 

Perhaps it is that simple

and that difficult. 

5 Comments

Filed under Bikram 101

5 responses to “Mind games

  1. Oh, I can SO relate to that state of mind.

    Love the Confucius quote.

  2. Love Yogi Berra quotes, this one seems strangely Bikram related “It ain’t the heat, it’s the humility.” But my favourite in that list was the Lewis Carroll, so relevant.

    But on this subject, Bikram got the question in Barcelona: “Does Bikram yoga help you find your goal in life?” The answer was something along the lines of: no but it can help you realise it.

    • I like quotes and sayings – along with songs that seem to trigger some meaning for me in them. Always something there if I pay attention.

      Interesting about the Bikram question / answer. I was ready to disagree – however on rumination and second reading, I see what he is saying. I believe that anything (including yoga) that puts you more in touch with who you are ultimately helps you live a better life. Goals are part of that. I also believe there isn’t an ultimate goal or rather if there is one, it is to live life fully, the best, truest way you can.

  3. ahappyyogi

    Relax your mind and open your heart. I love that.

Leave a Reply

