It’s official…I’m not a morning person!

At least that seems to be the case when it comes to yoga.  I have always prefered to practice in the afternoon, evening.    occasionally, when doing challenges, I went to a morning class.  I found myself  to be as stiff as a board, and if it was really early (like 6am) not quite tuned in enough to get what I needed from the yoga.  Or so it seemed. 

Once I started teaching, I went to classes when they would fit in – usually I would practice after I taught.  Practicing before gives me yoga brain mouth…you know what yoga brain does to you, yup, now apply  that to trying to guide people through a class.  Not for me.  So usually I would be warmed up and the class, if it was morning, was not first thing for me. 

This challenge, I have been doing more than usual amount of morning classes.  In fact last week, I did 5 out of 7 classes in the morning.  And you know what, each class I hurt, I was stiff, I was sore. 

I went today to the 5:30pm class. 

And YAY!  Very little pain, some stiffness and soreness, but overall a good class. 

This week, I am going to be an afternoon / evening yogi and see if it makes any difference at all in the long run.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bikram 101

Leave a Reply

