My hundred acre wood

Childhood imagination is a wonderful thing, something that we can toss aside as adults as fanciful and even outrageous. 

It is also inspiration – not only for a youngster; but for you, now.  Just for one moment, allow yourself to wander back to that spot in your mind, where all is enchanting:

“Wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.”

Click to view better image

 

 

I LOVE Winnie-the-Pooh.   My portal into my wee imagination.  I would gather my stuffed animals and play 100 acre wood, blankets and cushions and chairs all over the living room creating the map above.  Whenever we crossed a bridge over a rushing stream, I wanted to play “pooh sticks”.  I talked continually about Pooh Bear, Piglet and the rest.  My sister-in-law sewed me all the characters.  (I still have them).  I wanted a Pooh Bear birthday party.  I wanted a huge tree door to my room, just like Christopher Robin, so I could be in the 100 acre wood all the time.

Every summer, my family would gather at “the Lake” – a piece of family property with cabins and wildness and of course, a lake.  I transported the world of Pooh to our summer home and created my own hundred acre wood.  I made the “Pooh Trails” and led everyone on an adventure tour of the 100 acre wood. 

 

I found a beaver-chewed stick that looked exactly like Piglet and wanted my grandfather to make it into something special, with agate eyes.  He had never heard of Winne-the-Pooh!  I was in disbelief – how could you NOT know Pooh, Piglet, Eeyore, Kanga, Roo, Rabbit, Owl and Tigger!   We had to read him the stories.

Me and Buppo

 

Just for today, go, find your own hundred acre wood; unleash your imagination.  As Pooh says:

“Don’t underestimate the value of Doing Nothing, of just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.”  

2 Comments

Filed under life

2 responses to “My hundred acre wood

  1. Just one of the many reasons I LOVE being an aunt—I get to see the world through a child’s eyes and through a child’s imagination again and again and again.

    (The illustrations on this post are so lovely!)

Leave a Reply

